• Home
  • Winston Churchill

Winston Churchill

His tenacity in the face of Nazism, his decisive action as Prime Minister of the United Kingdom during the Second World War, together with his talents as an orator, made Winston Churchill one of the most recognized politicians of the XNUMXth century. Not having a personal fortune, he derives most of his income from writing and painting.

He discovered Morocco in 1935 and painted it instantly; “Sunset over the Atlas Mountains” for example was produced the same year since the Mamounia which he described as "the most beautiful view in the whole world". Between impressionism and expressionism, Winston Churchill let his brush go according to his inspirations.

The colors are exceptional and the style very particular. Used to gardens English, it is with wonder that he discovers the Moroccan palm grove, its clear sky and its unique light; he will never stop magnifying her every time he visits her.

He returned to Marrakech a few years after the Second World War. In 1948 he also produced "The Mosque of Marrakech", and other works telling the Morocco of that time.

During the Second World War, he painted only one painting, in Morocco, " The Minaret of Koutoubia (1943), which he later offered to US President Franklin Roosevelt. The canvas is currently estimated at around $ 3 million.

He even convinced Pacha El Glaoui to let his son Hassan cultivate his passion for painting, thus contributing to the success of one of the major figures on the Moroccan art scene.

The famous “Churchill Bar” of La Mamounia, whose doors are still open to you today, was thus created in homage to it.

You will like also

Accueil » Inspirations » Winston Churchill

Winston Churchill

Sa ténacité face au nazisme, son action décisive en tant que Premier ministre du Royaume-Uni durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, joints à ses talents d’orateur, ont fait de Winston Churchill un des hommes politiques les plus reconnus du XXe siècle. Ne disposant pas d’une fortune personnelle, il tire l’essentiel de ses revenus de l’écriture et de la peinture.

Il découvre le Maroc en 1935 et le peint instantanément; « Coucher de soleil sur les montagnes de l’Atlas » par exemple a été produit l’année même depuis la Mamounia qu’il décrivait comme « la plus belle vue du Monde entier ». Entre impressionnisme et expressionnisme, Winston Churchill laissait aller son pinceau au gré de ses inspirations.

Les couleurs sont exceptionnelles et le style bien particulier. Habitué aux jardins anglais, c’est avec émerveillement qu’il découvre la Palmeraie marocaine, son ciel dégagé et sa lumière unique; il n’aura de cesse de la magnifier à chaque fois qu’il lui rendait visite.

Il revient à Marrakech quelques années après la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En 1948 il réalisera d’ailleurs « La Mosquée de Marrakech », et d’autres œuvres racontant le Maroc de ce temps-là.

Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il ne peindra qu’un seul tableau, au Maroc, « Le Minaret de la Koutoubia » (1943), qu’il offrira plus tard au président américain Franklin Roosevelt. La toile est aujourd’hui estimée à quelque 3 millions de dollars.

Il convainc même le Pacha El Glaoui de laisser son fils Hassan cultiver sa passion pour la peinture, participant ainsi au succès d’une des personnalités majeures de la scène artistique marocaine.

Le fameux « Churchill Bar » de La Mamounia, dont les portes vous sont encore ouvertes à ce jour, a ainsi été créé en son hommage.

Vous aimerez aussi